Wednesday, May 31, 2023

Latest Posts

RW to be sworn in as the 8th Executive President tomorrow

Ranil Wickramasinghe, who was elected as the 8th Executive President of Sri Lanka, is scheduled to take oath tomorrow (21).

It will be done from the Parliament complex.

Ranil Wickramasinghe acted as the Acting President after the resignation of Gotabaya Rajapaksa from the office of President and the selection of the successor President was done today (20) by secret ballot in the Parliament.

Accordingly, Wickramasinghe got 134 votes, while Dallas Alahapperuma and Anura Dissanayake, who ran for the presidency, got 82 votes and 03 votes respectively.

Opposition leader Sajith Premadasa, who was going to stand for candidacy, withdrew from the party in support of Dallas Alahapperuma.

However, even though there was public opposition to Ranil Wickramasinghe outside the Parliament, it was not reflected in the Parliament and he was elected as the 8th Executive President.

Latest Posts


Don't Miss

Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.