Wednesday, July 24, 2024

Latest Posts

Two SC judges recuse themselves from Contempt Petition against ex-Minister Diana Gamage

June 27, Colombo (LNW): Two Supreme Court judges have recused themselves from deliberating on the contempt of court petition filed against former State Minister Diana Gamage.

The petition, submitted by former chairman of the Weligama Urban Council Rehan Jayawickrema, accuses Gamage of contempt for remarks made during a press conference subsequent to the Supreme Court’s ruling that disqualified her from serving as a MP.

The case was presented before a three-member Supreme Court bench, consisting of Justices Preethi Padman Surasena, Kumuduni Wickremasinghe, and Janak De Silva, on June 26.

However, Justices Janak De Silva and Kumuduni Wickremasinghe declared their decision to recuse themselves from the case.

The Supreme Court has subsequently ordered the petition to be recalled on August 5.

Latest Posts


Don't Miss

Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.