Taniya Minel wins ladies Amateur golf championship

15 year old Taniya Minel Balasuriya beat Thuhashini Selvaratnam 8 & 6 in the 36 hole final of the Sri Lanka Ladies Open Amateur Golf Championship 2017, to capture her first National Title.

Taniya Minel Balasuriya completed a sensational week, virtually making a clean sweep of the Major Trophies. The Final of the Ladies Amateur Championship was expected to be an enthralling close match, but Taniya Minel didn’t allow the pressure of a major final get to her and playing steady Golf in the Morning 18 Holes, notched up a comfortable 6 up lead. The experienced Thuhashini never gave up, but Taniya played Par golf in the afternoon to add two more holes to her morning lead and complete a famous victory by 8 & 6, to record her first National Title Win.

Earlier in the week Taniya Minel annexed the Sri Lanka Ladies Open Stroke play Golf Championship 2017, sponsored by ‘The Abhayaratne family’ in memory of the Late Malin Abhayaratne, Past President Sri Lanka Golf Union. Taniya Minel also won the Pin Fernando Trophy for the Best Aggregate Net Score over 2 Rounds, with a Net 135, clear of the Runner-up Anouk Chitty on 143 Net.

The International Team Event was won by Sri Lanka with a Team Gross of298 over 2 Rounds.

In the Bronze Category Eliane Sterchi beat Niranjalee Amarasuriya to Win the F B De Mel Challenge Cup presented by Ms. Rohini De Mel.

The Nuwara Eliya Cup for the 3 Round Aggregate Net Score was won by Taniya Minel Balasuriya with a Total of 204 from Anouk Chitty Net 215. 

The Bronze Cup fo Ladies with a Handicap of 20 and above was won by Kumari Herath with a Net aggregate of 312 from Fran De Mel Net 315.

At the conclusion of the Final of the Sri Lanka Ladies Amateur Championship Final, a solemn  Prize Giving followed with the President SLGU Mr. Priath Fernando giving away the Sri Ladies Amateur Championship 2017 Trophy whilst Mrs Yvonne Abhayaratne presented the Sri Lanka Ladies Stroke Play Championship Trophy on behalf of the Abhayaratne Family.

Taniya Minel

Sri Lanka Ladies Amateur Championship & Ladies Stroke play Open Championship 2017 Overall Results

Sri Lanka Ladies Amateur Golf Championship 2017 – Sri Lanka Ladies National Title
Winner: Taniya Minel Balasuriya  8 & 6
Runner up: Thuhashini Selvaratnam

Sri Lanka Ladies Open Stroke play Championship 2017- Sponsored by “Abhayaratne Family in memory of Late Malin Abhayaratne
Winner: Taniya Minel Balasuriya – Gross 216
Runner up: Anouk Chitty – Gross 233

F B De Mel Challenge Cup –Bronze Division Match Play Event, Presented by Ms. Rohini De Mel
Winner: Eliane Sterchi
Ruuner up: Niranjalee Amarasuriya

Pin Fernando Trophy (Aggregate Nett) 2 Rounds
Winner: Taniya Minel Balasuriya 135 Nett
Runner up: Anouk Chitty 143 Nett

Lilamani Weeratne Trophy (Aggregate Gross)
Winner: Taniya Minel Balasuriya
Firestone & Jepson Cup (1st Round Best Nett)

Winner: Anouk Chitty 72
Leonard Peiris Trophy 1st Round Best Gross)
Winner Taniya Minel Balasuriya 73

International Team Event
Winner- Sri Lanka Team Gross 298 (Taniya Minel & Anouk Chitty)

Latest News

Indian journalist gunned down and other stories in JUST ASIA, Episode 224

June 22, 2018

This week Just Asia begins with India, where Shujaat Bukhaari...

Legal action against leopard killers!

June 22, 2018

The government is investigating the killing of the leopard that...

I will not allow a military rule – President (video)

June 22, 2018

President Maithripala Sirisena said that people have forgotten the nature...

Japanese worker punished for starting lunch three minutes early

June 22, 2018

Japan’s commitment to addressing its dismal record on work-life balance...

Connect with Us

fb twitter youtube g ins in

Most viewed in Last week

Pump and Dump Captains of Sri Lanka

June 17, 2018

Lanka News Web has over and over again highlighted that...

Qatar Ambassador A.S.P. Liyanage Boasts - ' None of my Companies pay taxes'

June 15, 2018

A.S.P. Liyanage a businessman appointed as Sri Lanka's ambassador to...

India observes National Dengu Day with the Power of Papaya Leaves but still where are we..?

June 20, 2018

Dr Sanath Hettige is the first Westeren Medical Researcher and...

UNESCO to be asked to remove Sinharaja from world heritages list

June 16, 2018

UNESCO will be asked to remove Sinharaja forest from the...