New COPE members named - Lanka News Web (LNW)

New COPE members named

The new members for the Parliament's Committee on Public Enterprises (COPE) have been named. The names were announced by Deputy Speaker of Parliament Ananda Kumarasiri yesterday (11).
Following the swearing in of Mr. Mahinda Rajapakse as the new prime minister on October 26, 2018, all parliamentary committees were cancelled, and had new members appointed. However, the committee was reappointed amid the swearing in of Mr. Ranil Wickremesinghe as the new prime minister by the present government.
The committee accordingly consists of government representatives Rauf Hakeem, Sujeewa Senasinghe, Ajith P. Perera, Wasantha Aluvihare, Ranjan Ramanayake, Asok Abeysinghe, Doctor Harsha de Silva and Ravindra Samaraweera. The committee also consists of Anura Priyadarshana Yapa, Lakshman Seneviratne, Chandrasiri Gajadheera, Mahindananda Aluthgamage, Dayasiri Jayasekara and Jayantha Samaraweera from the United People's Freedom Alliance, and Mavei Senadhiraja from the Tamil National Alliance and Sunil Handunnetti from the Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna.
The chairman for the COPE committee consisting of 16 members will be appointed on their initial meeting. Parliamentarian Sunil Handunnetti from the Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna acted as the former chairman for the committee.

Latest News

Connect with Us

fb twitter youtube g ins in

Outbound wb

Most viewed in Last week

State owned commercial banks restrict overdraft facilities

March 21, 2019

State owned commercial banks have been directed to restrict the...

DIG removes OIC who refused to kill a suspect

March 20, 2019

Colombo Crimes Division (CCD) OIC Neville Silva has recently received...

New Zealand terrorist attack suspect grins in court

March 16, 2019

The Australian suspect arrested after dozens of worshippers were gunned...

SLFP members temporary: Pavitra

March 19, 2019

Certain members who hold high-ranking positions in the Sri Lanka...