An ‘Oscar’ for Winds Behind The Willows

For the third consecutive year, the annual ‘SILK Sports Awards 2017’ organised by, Sri Lanka’s premier sports promotion network, and sponsored by Sri Lanka Telecom was held on 28 November 2017 at the Bandaranaike Memorial International Conference Hall, Sri Lanka.

It is recognised as Sri Lanka’s first annual sports awards ceremony for sporting excellence and contribution, with the objective of appreciating those who contributed to sports in numerous ways in the past years, including the greats of the game and those unsung heroes behind the scenes.

SLT SILK Sports Awards 2017 – Winners

Major Sports Awards:

1. Lifetime Achievement – Hemasiri Fernando
2. Sportsman of the Year – Dilantha Malagamuwa
3. Sportswoman of the Year – Nimali Liyanaarachchi
4. Most Popular Sports Personality of the Year – Asela Gunaratne
5. Duncan White Award for Sports Excellence & Contribution – Muttiah Muralidaran
6. Outstanding Para Sports Personality of the Year – Dinesh Priyantha Herath
7. Outstanding School Sports Personality of the Year – Aruna Dharshana
8. Outstanding University Sports Personality of the Year – Thilini Pramodika

Sports Contribution Awards:

1. Outstanding Contribution to Sports Journalism – Sunil Abeywardena
2. Up and Coming Electronic, Social & Digital Media Programme – Hiru Sports Corner
3. Sports Publication & Author of the Year – Ranjan Mellawa
4. Local Sports Brand of the Year – Goyo
5. Outstanding Sporting School of the Year – A. Rathnayake Central College, Walala
6. Coach of the Year – Sujith Abeysekera

Special Jury Awards:

1. Outstanding Generous Sports Personality – Sam Chandrasoma
2. Outstanding Dedication & Contribution to Promote Sports (chess) – Suneetha Wijesuriya
3. Outstanding Professional Contribution to Sports Science & Technology – Prof Ravindra Goonetilleke
4. Outstanding Contribution to International Sportswear Industry – MAS Holdings
5. Outstanding Contribution to Sports Commentary – Palitha Perera
6. Up and Coming Sensational Athlete – Ruwansa Weerakkodi

Sports Excellence Awards:

1. Cricketer of the Year – Rangana Herath
2. Badminton Player of the Year – Niluka Karunaratne
3. Rugby Player of the Year – Danushka Ranjan
4. Cyclist of the Year – Jeewan Jayasinghe
5. Swimmer of the Year – Kyle Abeysinghe
6. Motor Sportsman of the Year – Ashan Silva
7. Powerlifter of the Year – Indika Paranagama
8. Carrom Player of the Year – Chamil Cooray
9. Chess Player of the Year – Zainab Saumy






Share this article

Additional Info

We at Lanka News Web accept the fact that you have the "Right to reply", if you are prejudiced by this news.
You can respond to[email protected]