Monday, May 27, 2024

Latest Posts

Three new political parties, including Welgama’s, registered

Applications submitted for registration of three political parties in 2021 have been approved, making them officially listed in the Election Commission’s list of registered political parties.

Accordingly, Nawa Lanka Nidahas Pakshaya (New Lanka Freedom Party), Damila Pragathisheeli Sandhanaya (Tamil Progressive Alliance) and Thamil Makkal Kuttani have been recognised as officially registered political parties. These political parties will be declared registered via gazette, the Commission said.

New Lanka Freedom Party was founded by Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) MP Kumara Welgama and the Tamil Progressive Alliance was founded by a collective of political parties in the estate community.

Along with these three parties are 79 registered political parties in Sri Lanka.

Meanwhile, applications have been called for registration in 2022.


Latest Posts


Don't Miss

Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.