Thursday, December 7, 2023

Latest Posts

Court issues notice to CBSL Monetary Board members

The Supreme Court has issued notices to Monetary Board members of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka (CBSL) Sanjeewa Jayawardena and Rani Jayamaha, based on fundamental rights (FR) petitions filed against 39 persons including the previous administration.

The notices were issued as the said individuals failed to appear in Court. The petitions were called in before the Supreme Court Bench chaired by Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya, and comprising Justices Buwaneka Aluvihare, Vijith Malalgoda, L.T.B. Dehideniya, and Murdu Fernando.

39 persons, including the former President, former Prime Minister, and former Finance Minister are cited as respondents to the case filed by the Transparency International Sri Lanka (TISL) former Chairman of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce (CCC) Chandra Jayaratne, Dr. Mahim Mendis from the Open University of Sri Lanka (OUSL), and former National Swimming Champion Julian Bolling, on the allegation that these individuals are directly responsible for Sri Lanka’s unsustainable foreign debts, its hard default on forex dept repayments, and the economic meltdown.

The petitions will be called in again on March 20, 2023.


Latest Posts


Don't Miss

Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.