Monday, December 11, 2023

Latest Posts

Thirteen post offices in Western Province operate round-the-clock for traffic fines

Colombo (LNW): Thirteen post offices within the Western Province-South, covering the regions of Colombo and Kalutara, are set to provide round-the-clock services for accepting fines associated with traffic offenses during the night.

Deputy Inspector General (DIG) in charge of Traffic Control and Road Safety, Indika Hapugoda said this innovative initiative was discreetly conveyed to Divisional Officers in specific areas of Colombo (North, South, Central), Nugegoda, Mount Lavinia, Kalutara, Seethawakapura, Kelaniya, and Gampaha as part of a pilot project.

These specified post offices are located in Slave Island, Havelock Town, Wellawatta, Borella, Kotahena, Battaramulla, Nugegoda, Dehiwala, Mount Lavinia, Moratuwa, Panadura, Kalutara, and Seethawakapura and have been specifically designated to operate 24/7, including during the nocturnal hours, for the purpose of fine collection.

This covert collaboration between the Department of Posts and law enforcement ensures the seamless provision of this service.

Additionally, the DIG discreetly instructed traffic duty officers to subtly communicate this initiative to drivers while handling cases related to traffic offenses.

Latest Posts


Don't Miss

Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.