Sunday, July 14, 2024

Latest Posts

Will the government that started off with two thirds lose its 113 seats?

The media reports that 10 government MPs who were elected to parliament from the SLPP at the last general election are preparing to represent themselves as an independent group in parliament. The group is also scheduled to meet President Gotabhaya Rajapaksa to announce their decision.

The decision of these parliamentarians is due to the failure of the government to find a solution to the policy manifesto that was presented to the people during the last presidential election and to make the policy statement a reality and the people are suffering day by day.

This group includes MPs Susil Primjanyantha, Chandima Weerakkody, Nimal Lansa, Gevindu Kumaratunga, Anura Priyadarshana Yapa, Premnath C Dolawatta and others. It is reported that in addition to this several state ministers are also included in this group.

At present the Wimal-Gammanpila-Vasu-SLFP group is also on the verge of leaving the government and the faction has more than 25 seats.

The Ceylon Workers’ Congress, which contested from the SLPP in the last election, is also deeply disappointed with the government leaders and is currently discussing leaving the government. Their main problem is the loss of a cabinet ministerial post to the Ceylon Workers Congress. The party has four parliamentary seats.

In this situation, not only the two-thirds majority of the government but also the simple majority of 133 is at stake.

Latest Posts


Don't Miss

Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.