Tuesday, December 5, 2023

Latest Posts

SLPP wants its old crew back in Cabinet!

The Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) has reportedly urged President Ranil Wickremesinghe to reenter a group of former ministers including Johnston Fernando, Namal Rajapaksa, Mahindananda Aluthgamage and Rohitha Abeygunawardena to the Cabinet in the new all-party government.

Among the nominees are also former ministers Pavithra Wanniarachchi, S.B. Dissanayake and S.M. Chandrasena. The new Cabinet of the all-party government is due to be appointed next week.

However, President Wickremesinghe has not agreed to the suggestion to date, according to sources.

Meanwhile, civil movements and trade unions urged the President never to agree to such proposals. Giving Cabinet positions to people like Fernando, Rajapaksa, Aluthgamage and Abeygunawardena could provoke the emergence of another struggle against the government, they pointed out.

Should these people be given ministerial posts again, a group of opposition politicians who have also agreed to accept ministerial posts in an all-party government may completely change their mind, they revealed.

A special discussion in this regard is due to be held tomorrow as well, sources added.

Latest Posts


Don't Miss

Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.