Thursday, July 25, 2024

Latest Posts

Major political switch to take place in Parliament on April 04?

By: Staff Writer

Colombo (LNW): A major political switch is set to take place in Parliament on April 04, 2023, as six MPs of the Opposition have agreed to sit on the Ruling Party bench, and several Ruling Party MPs deprived of trust are to unplug themselves as ‘independent’, following weeks of speculation in the arena amidst the growing political turmoil stemmed by public opinion, sources said.

MPs prepping themselves for pacting with the Ruling Party are believed to be Dr. Rajitha Senaratne, Kumara Welgama, A.H.M. Fowzie and three others, and the Ruling Party MPs who wish to serve ‘independent’ are believed to be joining the Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB), the main Opposition Party, thereafter, according to political sources.

These Ruling Party MPs have decided to withdraw from the government due to their disillusion over not being granted ministerial posts, the sources added.

LNW earlier predicted the possibility of MPs Senaratne and Welgama pledging their allegiance to the Ruling Party, however, these claims could not be substantiated upon our efforts to contact them over the phone.

Fowzie, who entered the Chambers following the stepping down of Opposition MP Mujibur Rahuman, may not be subject to criticism for joining the Ruling Party at all, given that this will most likely be his last term in Parliament, political analysts opined.

Latest Posts


Don't Miss

Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.