Monday, April 22, 2024

Latest Posts

President convenes high-level meeting to discuss IMF proposals

March 12, Colombo (LNW): President Ranil Wickremesinghe yesterday (11) led a significant gathering of party leaders at the Presidential Secretariat to deliberate on proposals put forth by the International Monetary Fund (IMF).

The meeting convened various stakeholders, including TNA MP M. A. Sumanthiran, to delve into the intricacies of ongoing negotiations with bilateral creditors, commercial creditors, and ISBs.

Treasury Secretary Mahinda Siriwardena provided a comprehensive overview of the negotiation process, expressing optimism about its culmination by June’s end.

During the discourse, MP Sumanthiran raised pertinent queries regarding the absence of published technical assistance reports from the IMF, essential for informed parliamentary deliberations.

President Wickremesinghe, acknowledging the imperative of transparency, pledged to furnish the requisite data to the TNA and Parliament, fostering informed debates and decisions.

Additionally, the Central Bank Governor highlighted the government’s commitment to adhering to recommendations delineated in the governor’s diagnostic report, stressing the importance of a structured roadmap for implementation.

President Wickremesinghe affirmed the government’s willingness to share technical assistance reports with parliamentarians, extending an invitation to Sumanthiran and other Opposition members to engage with the IMF directly.

In response, MP Sumanthiran expressed readiness to participate constructively in the dialogue, advocating for constructive measures while pinpointing areas necessitating attention and rectification.

President Wickremesinghe’s proactive initiative underscores the government’s commitment to transparency, accountability, and bipartisan collaboration in navigating crucial economic decisions for the collective welfare of citizens.

Among those present at the meeting were Prime Minister Dinesh Gunawardane, Leader of the House Susil Premajayantha, State Ministers of Finance Shehan Semasinghe and Ranjith Siyambalapitiya, Senior Advisor to the President on National Security and Chief of Presidential Staff Sagala Ratnayaka, Secretary to the President Saman Ekanayake, Governor of the Central Bank Dr. Nandalal Weerasinghe, and Secretary to the Treasury Mahinda Siriwariwardena, representing the government. TNA MP M.A. Sumanthiran represented the Opposition.

Latest Posts


Don't Miss

Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.